ELCIC logoThe Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada (ELCIC) is the youngest denomination of our partner churches; although, its roots go back to the 16th century to the start of the Protestant Reformation.  It was formed in 1986 through the merger of the former Evangelical Lutheran Church of Canada and the Lutheran Church in America – Canada Section.  It is in full communion with the Anglican Church of Canada.  The National Bishop is The Rev. Susan Johnson.

Lutheran crestELCIC is divided into five synods.  The North Thompson Ecumenical Shared Ministry is part of the Southern Interior Region of the British Columbia Synod.  The Rev. Dr. Gregory Mohr who was Bishop of the British Columbia Synod since 2010 retired on December 31, 2021.  The Rev. Kathy Martin was elected Bishop during the BC Synod Convention held from October 21 – 24, 2021 and took office on January 1, 2022.  She was ordained to the position on January 6, 2022.

In the fall of 2022, BC Synod Council started publishing highlights of their meetings as a newsletter.  They can be downloaded.


Congregations and members of ELCIC serve the world’s poor and disenfranchised through Canadian Lutheran World Relief.  Its programmes respond to needs of community development, refugee resettlement, emergency relief, and humanitarian aid shipments.

Other links:

Canada Lutheran – ELCIC’s magazine
BC Synod’s facebook page
ELCIC’s facebook page
In Full Communion:  Anglicans and Lutherans working together in Canada – This site is a home to joint programs and projects of the Anglican Church of Canada and the Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada.

Latest News: